Make your own free website on

Welcome to the Vezina trophy's page

The Vezina Trophy and Winners past and present

                                                     Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting    

The Vezina Trophy is awarded for the goaltending to be at their positions in the opinion of the General Mana gers of every team. The overall winner receives $10,000, runners up gets $6,000 and $4,000. This is the goalie's prize for being the best in that year.

Season Name Team
1926-1927 George Hainsworth Montreal Canadiens
1927-1928 George Hainsworth Montreal Canadiens
1928-1929 George Hainsworth Montreal Canadiens
1929-1930 Tiny Tompson Boston Bruins
1930-1931 Roy Worters New York Americans
1931-1932 Chuck Gardiner Chicago Blackhawks
1932-1933 Tiny Tompson Boston Bruins
1933-1934 Chuck Gardiner Chicago Blackhawks
1934-1935 Lorne Chabot Chicago Blackhawks
1935-1936 Tiny Tompson Boston Bruins
1936-1937 Normie Smith Detroit Red Wings
1937-1938 Tiny Tompson Boston Bruins
1938-1939 Frank Brimsek Boston Bruins
1939-1940 David Kerr New York Rangers
1940-1941 Turk Broda Toronto Maple Leafs
1941-1942 Frank Brimsek Boston Bruins
1942-1943 John Mowers Detriot Red Wings
1943-1944 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1944-1945 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1945-1946 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1946-1947 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1947-1948 Turk Broda Toronto Maple Leafs
1948-1949 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1949-1950 Bill Durnan Montreal Canadiens
1950-1951 Al Rollins Toronto Maple Leafs
1951-1952 Terry Sawchuk Detriot Red Wings
1952-1953 Terry Sawchuk Detriot Red Wings
1953-1954 Harry Lumley Toronto Maple Leafs
1954-1955 Terry Sawchuk Detroit Red Wings
1955-1956 Jaques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1956-1957 Jaques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1957-1958 Jaques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1958-1959 Jaques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1959-1960 Jaques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1960-1961 Johhny Bower Toronto Maple Leafs
1961-1962 Jaques Plante Montreal Canadiens
1962-1963 Glenn Hall Chicago Blackhawks
1963-1964 Charlie Hodge Montreal Canadiens
1964-1965 Johhny Bower Toronto Maple Leafs
1964-1965 Terry Sawchuk Toronto Maple Leafs
1965-1966 Charlie Hodge Montreal Canadiens
1965-1966 Gump Worsley Montreal Canadiens
1966-1967 Denis De Jordy Chicago Blackhawks
1966-1967 Glenn Hall Chicago Blackhawks
1967-1968 Rogatin Vachon Montreal Canadiens
1967-1968 Gump Worsley Montreal Canadiens
1968-1969 Glenn Hall ST. Louis Blues
1968-1969 Jaques Plante ST. Louis Blues
1969-1970 Tony Esposito Chicago Blackhawks
1970-1971 Eddie Giacomin New York Rangers
1970-1971 Gilles Villemure New York Rangers
1971-1972 Tony Esposito Chicago Blackhawks
1971-1972 Gary Smith Chicago Blackhawks
1972-1973 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1973-1974 Tony Esposito Chicago Blackhawks
1973-1974 Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers
1974-1975 Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers
1975-1976 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1976-1977 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1976-1977 Michel Larocque Montreal Canadiens
1977-1978 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1977-1978 Michel Larocque Montreal Canadiens
1978-1979 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1979-1980 Don Edwards Buffalo Sabers
1979-1980 Bob Sauve Buffalo Sabers
1980-1981 Denis Herron Montreal Canadiens
1980-1981 Michel Larocque Montreal Canadiens
1980-1981 Richard Sevigny Montreal Canadiens
1981-1982 Bill Smith New Yorl Islanders
1982-1983 Pete Peeter Boston Bruins
1983-1984 Tom Barrasso Buffalo Saber
1984-1985 Pelle Lindbergh Philadelphia Flyers
1985-1986 John Vanbiesbrouck New York Rangers
1986-1987 Ron Hextall Philadelphia Flyers
1987-1988 Grant Fuhr Edmonton Oilers
1988-1989 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1989-1990 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1990-1991 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1991-1992 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1992-1993 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1993-1994 Doninik Hasek Buffalo Sabers
1994-1995 Doninik Hasek Buffalo Sabers
1995-1996 Jim Carey Washinton Capitals
1996-1997 Doninik Hasek Buffalo Sabers
1997-1998 Doninik Hasek Buffalo Sabers
1998-1999 Doninik Hasek Buffalo Sabers
1999-2000 Olaf Kolzig Washinton Capitals
2000-2001 Doninik Hasek Buffalo Sabers
2001-2002 Jose Theodor Montreal Canadiens
2002-2003 Martin Brodeur New Jersy Devils
2003-2004 Martin Brodeur New Jersy Devils
2004-2005 N.H.L Lock Out
2005-2006 Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary Flames

How many times each team the vezina's trophy


Montreal Canadiens 34 times

Chicago Blackhawks 12 times

Buffalo Sabers 9

Boston Bruins 7 times

Toronto Maple Leafs 7 times

Detriot Red Wings 5 times

Philadelphia Flyers 4 times

New York Rangers 4 times

Washinton Capitals 2 times

ST. Louis Blues 2 times

New Jersy Devils 2 times

New York Americans 1 times

New York Islanders 1 times

Edmonton Oilers 1 times

Calgary Flames 1 times

the vezina trophy has had 92 winners

My Links
Back to Georges vezina's main page